Ostpartnerschaften (Partnerships with the East)

With its 10 partner universities throughout Middle and Eastern Europe and an annual budget of 100,000 EUR, OVGU is one of the main project partners in the DAAD programme "Ostpartnerschaften" (Partnerships with the East).


The Ostpartnerschaften programme aims to encourage partnerships between German institutions of higher education and its counterparts in Middle, Eastern, and Southeastern Europe and also the GUS countries.

Through these partnerships, the DAAD pursues the following goals:

  • strengthening of existing partnerships and initiation of new, stable twinnings with insitutions of higher education in the target region
  • encouraging cooperation in research and teaching in a variety of subject areas
  • boosting the exchange of scientiest, graduates and students under the framework of partnership agreements
  • fostering a sustainable structural improvement of teaching and research conditions in the partner countries
  • enhancing the internationalisation of German and foreign institutions of higher education

Forms and Call for Application

The Following Universities Are Partners of OVGU

Georgia Tbilisi State University
Russian Federation
Russian State University of Physical Education, Sport, Youth and Tourism
  Linguistics University of Nizhny Novgorod
  St Petersburg University
  Kazan Federal University
Czech Republic
Masaryk University Brno
Ukraine National Technical University "Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute"
  National Technical University of Ukraine "Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute"
Hungary Budapest University of Technology and Economics
  University of Miskolc

Last Modification: 12.01.2022 - Contact Person: M.A. Anne-Katrin Güldenpfennig, geb. Behnert