1993 Founding of Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg.
Amalgamates Magdeburg's Technical University,
Teacher Training College and Academy of Medicine.
1994 For the first time OVGU establishes two collaborative
research centres - one in medicine and one in mechanical engineering.
1995 The Otto von Guericke Lectures - a series of lectures with internationally renowned scientists for interested members of the general public - begins.
1996 Establishment of the first national study programme in
Computational Visualistics in the Faculty of Computer Science
1997 Dr. Ingo Rehberg, Professor of Experimental Physics, is awarded the most lucrative German research prize, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation.
1998 For the first time, the city of Magdeburg and Otto von
Guericke University jointly award the Eike von Repgow Prize.
1999 Dr. Hans-Christian Pape, Professor of Neurophysiology, is awarded the most lucrative German research prize, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation.
  Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg becomes
a member of the German Research Foundation.
2000 For the first time in the world, in cooperation with
Röstfein GmbH, candied coffee beans are roasted in a fluidized bed.
2001 Prof. Dr. K. Peter Fritzsche of the Institute of Political Science becomes the first holder of the UNESCO Chair in Human Rights Education in the Federal Republic.
  The SAP University Competence Centre is opened at OVGU.
2002 On the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the birth of Otto von Guericke, after whom the University is named, OVGU presents itself to the public in both Alter Markt and the Allee Center shopping mall.
2003 First Objective Agreement concluded between the University and the state of Saxony-Anhalt. This agreement sees universities committing to work on a new university structural plan in the state.
  First Children's Lecture at OVGU
  Inauguration of the University Library
  Inauguration of the new hospital building housing Surgery, parts of Internal Medicine and Neuromedicine, Building 60
2004 Lecture Theatre 1 - with 574 seats the largest at OVGU - opens.
  The University Computer Centre moves into a new home.
2005 Commissioning of the first 7 Tesla Ultra High Field Nuclear Spin Tomograph in Europe
at the new research centre operated by OVGU and the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology
2006 OVGU becomes the first university in Saxony-Anhalt to be awarded the “audit familiengerechte Hochschule” (audit of family-friendly universities) basic certificate.
2007 To integrate brain research at Magdeburg, the
Centre for Behavioural Brain Sciences is founded.
  Campus TV, OVGU's own television magazine show
will in future report on news from the University.
2008 With the founding of the "Automotive" project, the University
is now pursuing three key areas of state-promoted research.
2009 OVGU and the Fraunhofer Institute for Factory Operation and
Automation (IFF) found the Centre for Digital Engineering.
  OVGU adopts a new logo and corporate design.
2010 The Galileo Test Site Saxony-Anhalt development laboratory is inaugurated at
OVGU and in the same year extended to include a logistics platform.
  With the opening of the Campus Service Centre, students, prospective
students and visitors now have a comprehensive service provider.
2011 For the first time, OVGU awards 30 Germany
Scholarships to dedicated and high-performing students.
2012 The new research building for the Institute for Competence
in Automobility (IKAM) on the OVGU campus opens.
2013 The flagship STIMULATE research campus project opens.
Technologies are developed here for image-guided minimally-invasive
methods in medicine. OVGU celebrates its 20th anniversary.

Last Modification: 09.07.2020 - Contact Person: Webmaster