OVGU Science Awards

Research Award of  the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg

With the Research Award of the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg researchers and members of the OVGU are honoured for their outstanding scientific achievements. Since 1998, the prize has traditionally been awarded once a year to individuals or research groups.

Faculty Award for the best doctoral candidate of each faculty

The minimum requirement to be awarded with the Faculty Award for the best graduate of each faculty is an overall grade of "very good" or "excellent" in the final examination.

Dissertation Award

The Research Commission of the Senate can select a prize winner for the Dissertation Award from the submitted Faculty Awards for the best doctoral students by the end of October each year.

Eike-von-Repgow Scholarship

The Eike-von-Repgow Scholarship is awarded by the Otto-von-Guericke University in cooperation with the state capital Magdeburg. The prize is intended to promote scientific and artistic engagement with the history and culture of Central Germany and the Central Elbe region as well as to highlight the connection of this region with other parts of Europe.

Klaus-Erich-Pollmann Research Award

The Klaus-Erich-Pollmann Research Award is aimed at young scientists of the OVGU whose doctoral theses were awarded with "summa cum laude". The eligible applicants should cooperate with other scientists at domestic or foreign universities through their further scientific research and promote the international reputation of the University of Magdeburg through possible joint research projects. The award is to be used in accordance with this objective.

Karin-Witte-Women's Sponsorship Award

In accordance with the wishes of the benefactor, the Karin-Witte Women's Sponsorship Award is intended to be awarded to particularly talented scientists from the natural sciences with the aim of motivating them to continue their scientific career at the OVGU. The prize is awarded alternately with the Klaus-Erich-Pollmann Research Award every two years.

Teaching Award of the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg

The Teaching Award of the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg takes into account the different aspects and the multifaceted nature of good teaching. "The University sees the award of a university teaching prize as an instrument for increasing the reputation of teaching and making teaching visible. We want to reward excellent teaching and lecturers and set impulses that encourage an exchange about the importance of good teaching and point out development potential," says Vice-Rector Prof. Scheffler. By setting a different focus every year, the existing range of subjects at the University of Magdeburg and the entire teaching staff can be taken into account.

CBBS Best Paper of The Year

The CBBS Best Paper of The Year is awarded up to twice a year by the Center for Behavioural Brain Science (CBBS), a central scientific institution of Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg. The CBBS thus provides funding for particularly innovative and forward-looking research projects in the field of neuroscience. However, the application is only open to CBBS members.

Last Modification: 04.05.2022 - Contact Person: Webmaster